Archbold Auxiliary Awards Scholarships

Posted on

Archbold Auxiliary Awards Scholarships

Monday, November 7, 2011

The Archbold Auxiliary recently awarded $30,000 in academic scholarships to area students who have aspirations of a career in healthcare. The scholarships are made possible each year by fundraising efforts, such as Auxiliary Gift Shop sales and memorial donations.

The Scholarship Committee of the Auxiliary reviewed 72 applications, from which 39 scholarship recipients were selected. Recipients are required to be residents of the area that Archbold serves including Brooks, Grady, Mitchell and Thomas Counties. Selection is based on academic performance (applicants must have a minimum grade point average of 3.0), recommendation letters from community members and a personal essay. Applicants are interviewed by the scholarship committee.

High school seniors, as well as current college students, are eligible to apply for Archbold Auxiliary scholarships.

“The Archbold Auxiliary encourages students to pursue careers in the healthcare field,” said Imogene Conyers, Auxiliary scholarship chair. “We are thrilled to award these students based on their academic accomplishments and outstanding character.”

Recipients of the 2011 Archbold Auxiliary Scholarships are Bradley Parker, University of Georgia; Shivani Patel, George Washington University; Briana Rose, Southwest Georgia Technical College; David Ross, University of Georgia; Rachel Russell, Southwest Georgia Technical College; Lori Sapp, Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College; Katie Spence, Darton College; William Spence, University of West Georgia; Kristen Stephens, Thomas University; Alexis White, Albany State University; Catherine Wilson, Georgia Southwestern University; Bilal Bari, Georgia Technical Institute; Jennings Childree, Thomas University; Kathryn Collins, University of Georgia; Emily Denton, University of Georgia; Kaycie Eubanks, Mercer University; Caitlin Fletcher, Thomas University; Daphne Frasch, Southwest Georgia Technical College; Chelsea Frazier, Southwest Georgia Technical College; Roderick Frazier, Southwest Georgia Technical College; Annabelle Larkin, University of Georgia; Brittney Nunnally, Darton College; Joseph Winstead, Valdosta State University; Rosa Wright, Florida Agricultural and Mechanical University; Jennifer Christi, University of North Carolina; Elizabeth Coram, Kennesaw State University; Sarah Farmer, Georgia Southern University; Bette Ford, Ross Medical University; Kelsey Hall, University of Georgia; Sarah Hardy, University of Georgia; Abbie Mitchell, Georgia Southern University; Christian McMillan, University of Georgia; Lauren Montgomery, Tallahassee Community College; Lindley C. Kent, Emory University; Sarah Rice, Georgia Southern University; Jana Simmons, Bainbridge College; Mallory Stewart, University of Georgia; Nicole Van Cleve, Valdosta State University; Coley Westbrook, University of Georgia.

Applications for 2012 Archbold Auxiliary scholarships will be available in early December at the information desk at Archbold Memorial Hospital.

For more information on the Archbold Auxiliary, call (229)228-2742.