Archbold Auxiliary Awards Scholarships

Posted on

Archbold Auxiliary Awards Scholarships

The Archbold Auxiliary recently awarded $40,000 in academic scholarships to area students who have aspirations of a career in healthcare. The scholarships are made possible each year by fundraising efforts through Auxiliary Gift Shop sales and memorial donations.

The Auxiliary Scholarship Committee reviewed over 50 new applications, from which 22 new scholarship recipients were selected, along with 18 returning recipients. Recipients are required to be residents of Brooks, Grady, Mitchell and Thomas Counties. Selection is based on academic performance (applicants must have a minimum grade point average of 3.0), recommendation letters from community members and a personal essay. Select applicants are interviewed by the scholarship committee.

Scholarship committee members include Emma Chatmon, Susan Herin, Alice Pugh, Nelda Rome, Janet Schmidt, and Imogene Conyers, who also serves as the committee’s Chairman.

High school seniors, as well as current college students, are eligible to apply for the Archbold Auxiliary scholarship.

“We are thrilled to award these students based on their academic accomplishments and impeccable character,” said Imogene Conyers, Auxiliary Scholarship Chairman. “The Archbold Auxiliary Scholarship aims to encourage and help support students who aspire to pursue careers in the healthcare field.”

Scholarship recipients include: Claudia Hernandez- Brooks County High School; Adriance Little- Brooks County High School; Laney Pollock- Baconton Community Charter School; Doniel Atkinson- Brookwood School; Jordan Brinkley- Brookwood School; Landry Joyner- Brookwood School; Judson Womble- Brookwood School; Destyne Cason- Cairo High School; MacKenzie Hester-Cairo High School; Breanne Johns- Cairo High School; Patrice White-Cairo High School; Jocelyn Woods-Cairo High School; Ansley Thornton- Thomas County Central High School; Rondesja Mitchell- Thomas County Central High School, Noah Voyles- Thomas County Central High School; Myles Felias -Thomasville High School; Naomi Toles – Thomasville High School; Melanie Green; Franklin Scudder; Jada Barfield- Pelham High School; Mitt Patel- Westwood School; Sydney Lamberth- Westwood School.

Returning scholarship recipients include: Natalie Smith- Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College; Stephanie Sculley- Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College; Read Elliot- Bainbridge State College; Madison Morgan- Berry College; Ashton Whaley- Georgia College and State University; Mary C. Bryant- Georgia Institute of Technology; Riya Patel- Mercer University; Abigail Patterson – Samford University; Hollin LeGette- Samford University; Kennedy Bowdry- Savannah State; Gregory Patterson- University of Georgia; Mary Westbrook- University of Georgia; Hannah White- University of Georgia; Courtee Waters- University of West Georgia; Jermaine Green- Valdosta State University; Jessi Salas- Valdosta State University.

Applications for the 2019 Archbold Auxiliary scholarship will be available in January at the information desk at Archbold Memorial Hospital.

For more information on the Archbold Auxiliary, call (229) 228-2742.

The Archbold Auxiliary recently awarded $40,000 in academic scholarships to area students with healthcare career aspirations.